WORLD JERSEY CATTLE BUREAU MINUTES OF THE 2014 MEETING

Held at 16.20 on Friday 19th September 2014, at the Arniston Hotel, South Africa.

1) To appoint a Chairman:

It was noted that the President, Derrick Frigot, was in attendance and on the proposition of Steve Le Feuvre, seconded by David Shaw with all in favour, he took the Chair.

2) President's Welcome:

The Chairman welcomed the delegates to the meeting of the WJCB held during the 20th International Conference. He congratulated the organisers and the host association, Jersey South Africa, for the 2014 programme, noting that some 160 delegates had registered from 20 countries. He particularly thanked Dr. Johan Jooste (President, Jersey SA) together with Jannie Nel and Tessa Opperman from the staff, who had all done so much to ensure that the conference had been such a success.

3) Record of those present and apologies for absence:

Some 42 members and observers were present including: Derrick Frigot (President, Jersey), Anders Levring (Vice President Europe, Denmark), Dr. Cherie Bayer (Vice President North America, USA), Peter Ness (Vice President Oceania, Australia), Agustin Robredo (Vice President for South America (Argentina), Steve Le Feuvre (Treasurer, Jersey), James Godfrey (Secretary, Jersey), Brian Carter (President, Jersey NZ), Dr Johan Jooste (President, Jersey SA), Ian Mitchell (President, RJA&HS), David Shaw (President, UK Jerseys), Rachel Richardson (UK Jerseys), Kathryn Kyle (Jersey Canada), Roger Trewhella (UK), Peter Larson (Denmark), John Bailey (New Zealand), Trevor Saunders (Australia), Scott Joynson (Australia), Martin Schuler (Switzerland), Benoit Guioullier (France), Vanessa Ruiz (Costa Rica), Christiaan Koers (Netherlands), Lars Soderland (Sweden), Ben Tyrrell (Ireland), David Chamberlain (USA), Winsome Anderson (Australia), David Hambrook (Jersey), Paulo Borello (Italy). Apologies were received from: Johannes van Eeden (Vice President for Africa, South Africa), John Le Feuvre (Jersey), Paul Houze (Jersey), Bill Maness (USA), Mark Taylor (UK), Mogens Stendal (Denmark), Dr Delfine Sebastiano (President, Jersey Italy), Bruno Schuler (Switzerland), Ian Anderson (Australia), Robert Anderson (Australia), Lyndsey Anderson (Australia), Kelvin Trotman (Australia), Maurice Core (USA), Neil Smith (USA), Suzanne Le Feuvre (Jersey), Hans Norgaard (Denmark), Jacobo Cabassa (Guatemala), Andrea Trajani (Albania), Cecilia Gallinal (Uruguay).

- **4) Notice of the meeting:** Notice of the meeting was read having been called according to the Constitution.
- 5) To approve the minutes of the meeting of the Bureau held in Hamilton, New Zealand, February 2011: The minutes had been posted on the web site and were adopted by unanimous approval on the proposition of Brian Carter and seconded by Agustin Robredo.
- 6) Matters arising from the minutes of last meeting: There were no matters arising.
- 7) To discuss any matters arising from the reports of the President, Vice Presidents, Secretary and Treasurer presented to the Council since the last Bureau meeting:

It was noted that these were published on the web site and there were no matters arising.

8) To receive the recommendation of Council regarding the election of Officers of the Bureau:

It was noted that the following nominations had been correctly received (with the nominating countries in brackets), to serve a term until the end of the 21st Conference in the USA in 2018:

- a. President Derrick Frigot (USA, Jersey) and Peter Ness (Australia)
- b. Vice President for Africa Arno Theron (South Africa)
- c. Vice President for Asia-Oceania Trevor Saunders (Australia)
- d. Vice President for Europe Anders Levring (Denmark)
- e. Vice President for Latin America Agustin Robredo (Colombia)
- f. Vice President for North America Kathryn Kyle (USA)

WORLD JERSEY CATTLE BUREAU MINUTES OF THE 2014 MEETING

The Chairman noted that on a ballot the Council had elected Derrick Frigot to serve as President and that the nominations for Vice Presidents were uncontested and therefore he was able to recommend their election to the Bureau accordingly. The meeting was in agreement.

The Chairman noted that there had been two applications received to provide a Secretariat service to the Bureau. The first from the RJA&HS in Jersey, with James Godfrey stepping down from the role of Secretary to be replaced by David Hambrook, and the second from ABA Associates in the UK with Roger Trewhella to take the role of Secretary. The Council had agreed to appoint Roger Trewhella as Secretary supported by ABA Associates. The meeting was in agreement.

The Chairman noted that Steve Le Feuvre (Jersey) had agreed to continue as Treasurer for one further year and he was pleased that the Council recommended that appointment. The meeting was in agreement. The Chairman thanked Steve for his continued support and hard work on behalf of the Bureau.

9) To confirm and adopt any changes to the Constitution recommended by the Council and subject to the approval of the Royal Court:

The Chairman noted that a Bureau meeting would be held next year to consider a change to the constitution which required either the Secretary or Treasurer to be resident in the Jersey.

10) To discuss any other business:

- 10-a) <u>WJCB Awards</u>: The President congratulated Dr Duane Norman, Mr Dick Clauss and Johannes van Eeden on being awarded the Distinguished Achievement Award by the Council of the Bureau.
- 10-b-i) 2015 Annual Meeting in Germany: The Chairman noted that the Council had agreed to accept an invitation from the Jersey cattle association in Germany to hold the meetings in that country at the end of June. A pre-meeting study tour would be held in Switzerland, the meetings in Germany and a post-meeting study tour to Poland and Denmark.
- 10-b-ii) 2016 Annual Meeting and Regional Congress in the UK: David Shaw introduced the programme starting in Ireland at the beginning of June and travelling through Northern Ireland, Scotland and the North of England finishing with a few days in Jersey to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the founding of the Jersey Herd Book.
- 10-b-iii) 2017 Annual Meeting in Costa Rica: The Chairman reported that an invitation had been received from Jersey Costa Rica to hold the meetings in that country and the Council had accepted.
- 10-b-iv) 2018 21st International Conference in USA: Cherie Bayer advised that plans were being developed, particularly on an International Youth Congress, details of which can be found in the minutes of the Council meetings.
- 10-c) Vote of thanks for the Secretary: Trevor Saunders proposed, and Scott Joynson seconded, a vote of thanks to James Godfrey for all his work over eight years as Secretary. The meeting was in favour to much applause. The Chairman also thanked James Godfrey noting that he had proved to be an excellent administrator of Bureau affairs, commenting on how much he had achieved for the Bureau which was now much stronger as a result of his efforts.
- 10-d) <u>Vote of thanks for the Vice Presidents</u>: The Chairman also thanked the retiring Vice Presidents, having completed their terms of office; Cherie Bayer for North America, Peter Ness for Oceania and Johannes van Eeden for Africa. Their input and support had been invaluable.
- 10-e) <u>Vote of thanks for the President</u>: Steve Le Feuvre proposed a vote to thanks to the President for his continued dedication to the Bureau. He also congratulated the President on being awarded an MBE for his services to the Jersey breed.

There was no further business and the Chairman declared the meeting closed at 16:50.

To be signed on adoption by the Chairman of the meeting:

WORLD JERSEY CATTLE BUREAU MINUTES OF THE 2014 MEETING

	Date:
Pa	ge 3